Archduk :: Scientific life :: Die Balearen

Die Balearen is a seven-volume work. The first volume is a study of the Pine Islands. The second and third volumes cover Majorca in general; the fourth volume describes the city of Palma and the lives of its residents; and the fifth volume describes the villages of the island, as well as their customs, folklore, agriculture, industry, and so on. The sixth and seventh volumes include a study of Minorca. In truth, Die Balearen consists of three monographs, dedicated to the study of Ibiza-Formentera, Majorca and Minorca, respectively. According to the Archduke, an overview of the entire archipelago is impossible. That’s why he wrote a general part and then a specific part on each of the islands.”
Trias Mercant, S., L’Arxiduc Lluís Salvador, una història de vida, Cort, 1994.
If you want to read the abstracts made by the NIXE III Project of those books see the following links:
Die Balearen, geshildert in Wort und Bild (1869-1884) -Majorca-
Die alten Pitiusen (1869) -Ibiza-
Die Insel Menorca (1890-1891) -Menorca-


Associates & Charity



Programación: :: Diseño: Digitalpoint